Livingston Awards finalists move to final round of judging

May 17, 2017

ANN ARBOR—The Livingston Awards for Young Journalists and the University of Michigan have announced the 2017 finalists in local, national and international reporting.

The finalists, selected from hundreds of entries, will move to the final round of judging. The awards honor the best reporting and storytelling by journalists under the age of 35 in print, broadcast and digital journalism.

The national judges will introduce the winners on June 6 at a luncheon in New York.

Funded by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and U-M to support the vital role of a free and independent press, the awards bolster the work of young reporters, create the next generation of journalism leaders and advance civic engagement around powerful storytelling.

“The exceptional quality and range of the finalists is a testament to the vital work journalists are doing every day to foster understanding and accountability locally, nationally and internationally,” said Lynette Clemetson, Livingston Awards director.

The Livingston Awards regional judges read all qualifying entries to select the finalists in local, national and international reporting. The regional judging panel includes: Raney Aronson-Rath, executive producer, “Frontline,” PBS; Stella Chávez, education reporter, KERA Public Radio (Dallas); Chris Davis, vice president of investigative journalism, Gannett; David Greene, host, “Morning Edition,” NPR; Stephen Henderson, editorial and opinion editor, Detroit Free Press; Shirley Leung, columnist, The Boston Globe; and Amy Silverman, managing editor, Phoenix New Times.

The Livingston Awards national judges review all finalist entries and meet to select the winners. The national judges are Christiane Amanpour, chief international correspondent, CNN; Ken Auletta, author and media and communications writer, The New Yorker; Dean Baquet, executive editor, The New York Times; John Harris, editor-in-chief and co-founder, Politico; Clarence Page, columnist and editorial board member, Chicago Tribune; Anna Quindlen, author; María Elena Salinas, anchor, Univision News; Bret Stephens, op-ed columnist, The New York Times; and Kara Swisher co-founder and executive editor, Recode

The 2017 finalists, for work produced in 2016:

Local Reporting:
Amy Brittain, The Washington Post; Ricardo Cano and Caitlin McGlade, The Arizona Republic; Jacob Carpenter, Naples Daily News; Courtney Crowder, The Des Moines Register; Claire Galofaro, The Associated Press; Sarah Gonzalez, WNYC; Molly Harbarger, The Oregonian/OregonLive; Paul Heintz, Seven Days; Stephen Hobbs, Sun-Sentinel (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.); Kala Kachmar, Asbury Park Press; Vince Lattanzio and Morgan Zalot, NBC10 Philadelphia (WCAU); Andy Mannix, Star Tribune (Minneapolis, Minn.); Jonah Newman, The Chicago Reporter; Brian Rosenthal, Houston Chronicle; Zachary Sampson, Laura Morel and Eli Murray, Tampa Bay Times; Neena Satija, Kiah Collier, Al Shaw, Jeff Larson and Ryan Murphy, ProPublica and The Texas Tribune; Alex Stuckey, The Salt Lake Tribune; Sisi Wei, Lena Groeger, Cezary Podkul and Ken Schwencke, ProPublica.

National Reporting:
Tina Antolini, Gravy Podcast; Shane Bauer and James West, Mother Jones; Christopher Baxter and Matthew Stanmyre, NJ Advance Media (The Star-Ledger/; Fernanda Echavarri and Marlon Bishop, Latino USA/NPR; John Eligon, The New York Times; Lyndsey Gilpin, High Country News; Eli Hager and Alysia Santo, The Marshall Project; Amy Julia Harris, Reveal from The Center for Investigative Reporting; Jarrad Henderson, USA Today; Brooke Jarvis, The California Sunday Magazine; Jackie Jesko, “Nightline,” ABC News; Dana Liebelson, Ryan Reilly and Shane Shifflett, The Huffington Post; Terrence McCoy, The Washington Post; Lillian Mongeau, The Hechinger Report; Eli Saslow, The Washington Post; Catherine Shoichet and Evelio Contreras, CNN; Brandon Sneed, Bleacher Report; Mike Spies, The Trace; Sarah Stillman, The New Yorker; Reeves Wiedeman, New York Magazine.

International Reporting:
Heidi Blake and John Templon, BuzzFeed News and BBC; Samantha Bresnahan, CNN; Zach Dorfman, The Atavist Magazine; Hannah Dreier, The Associated Press; Alice Fordham, NPR; Mike Giglio and Munzer al-Awad, BuzzFeed News; Nelufar Hedayat, Lottie Gammon and Stefano Pozzebon, Fusion; Kevin Sieff, The Washington Post; Ben C. Solomon, The New York Times; Megan Specia and Yara Bishara, The New York Times; John Sutter, Bryce Urbany, Deborah Brunswick and Matt Gannon, CNN; Ben Taub, The New Yorker; Francesca Trianni, Time; Elisabeth Zerofsky, Harper’s.

Links to the finalists work are available on the Wallace House website.

About The Livingston Awards:
The Livingston Awards for Young Journalists are the most prestigious honor for professional journalists under the age of 35 and are the largest all-media, general reporting prizes in American journalism. Entries from print, broadcast and online journalism are judged against one another as technology blurs distinctions the traditional platforms. The $10,000 prizes, awarded annually for local, national and international reporting, are sponsored by the University of Michigan, the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and the Indian Trail Charitable Foundation. The Livingston Awards are a program of Wallace House at the University of Michigan, home to the Knight-Wallace Fellowships for Journalists. Learn more at

About the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation:
Knight Foundation supports transformational ideas that promote quality journalism, advance media innovation, engage communities and foster the arts. The foundation believes that democracy thrives when people and communities are informed and engaged. For more information, visit