U-M honors 15 faculty members

October 9, 1995
Contact: umichnews@umich.edu

ANN ARBOR—Fifteen University of Michigan faculty members will be recognized today (Oct. 9) for their teaching, research, service and creative activities at a presentation ceremony at 4 p.m. in Rackham Amphitheater.

Two will receive Amoco Foundation Faculty Teaching Awards, which recognize ” demonstrated excellence in instruction at the undergraduate level” and carry a $1,000 stipend.

Those receiving Amoco Awards are Daniel N. Fader, professor of English, and Scott G. Paris , professor of psychology and of education.

Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards will be presented to five individuals. The award, which caries a teaching, research, creative work in the arts, public service and other activities that have brought the University distinction.”

The five recipients are Reynolds Farley, professor of sociology and research scientist, Population Studies Center; Sarah Winans Newman, professor of anatomy and cell biology; James A. Winn, professor of English and of music (literature and music) and director, Institute for the Humanities; Kensall D. Wise, professor of manufacturing technology and of electrical engineering and computer science; and Charles F. Yocum, professor of biology and of chemistry.

Faculty Recognition Awards honor individuals for their ” contributions to the University through significant achievement in research and other scholarly activities, excellence as a teacher and counselor and/or distinguished participation in University service activities.”

The award, which carries a $1,000 stipend, will be presented to five faculty members: Christin Carter-Su, professor of physiology; Jeffrey S. Chamberlain, associate professor of human genetics; Santiago Colas, assistant professor of Spanish and of Latin American literature and of comparative literature; Lincoln B. Faller, professor of English; and James Penner-Hahn, professor of chemistry.

Gayl D. Ness, professor of sociology, will receive the Distinguished Faculty Governance Award, which carries a $500 stipend.

The Regents’ Award for Distinguished Public Service will be presented to William R. Alexander, professor of English. It carries a $1,000 stipend.

The U-M Press Book Award, which carries a $1,000 stipend, will be presented to Laurence A. Goldstein, professor of English, for his book ” The American Poet at the Movies: A Critical History.”

Charles F. YocumChristin Carter-SuJeffrey S. ChamberlainJames Penner-HahnGayl D. Ness