U-M’s Ford School of Public Policy to host Stacey Abrams, other policymakers and scholars

April 2, 2024


DATE: April 11-12, 2024

EVENT: The Ford School of Public Policy’s Dean Symposium: “Policy Innovation for Our Times.”

The event, convened by Ford School Dean Celeste Watkins-Hayes, includes several speakers and a series of panel discussions exploring social policy, racial equity, climate change and the state of democracy.

The two days will feature keynote appearances by voting rights advocate Stacey Abrams, technology visionary Alondra Nelson and domestic policy veteran Cecilia Muñoz, along with a series of panel discussions among scholars and policymakers examining social policy, racial equity, climate change and the state of democracy.

Participants will include former deputy secretary of state Stephen Biegun; University of Chicago political scientist Cathy Cohen; economist Darrick Hamilton of The New School; Northwestern sociologist Mary Pattillo; and E. Patrick Johnson, artist, activist and dean of Northwestern University’s School of Communication.

Ford School faculty leading and joining sessions include Jenna Bednar, associate dean for academic affairs; Susan Page, director of the Weiser Diplomacy Center; Shobita Parthasarathy, director of the Science, Technology, and Public Policy program; and Luke Shaefer, director of Poverty Solutions. Others include Paula Lantz, Ann Chih Lin, Natasha Pilkauskas, Kaitlin Raimi and Mo Torres.

PLACE: Weill Hall, 735 S. State St., Ann Arbor

INFORMATION: The events are open to the public, though some may be available by ticket lottery. In-person attendance for Abrams’ keynote is limited by lottery to Ford School students, faculty and staff. All sessions will be streamed live and on-demand. Register to attend individual sessions.